What Next: as Tanna registers in NRM’s yellow book

By Our Reporter


Former contestant for NRM Regional Vice Chairperson Eastern Uganda and also former MP Tororo Municipality, Hon. Sanjay Tanna has registered in NRM’s Yellow Book at his new village.

Hon. Sanjay, following the footsteps of H.E President Museveni also National Chairman of NRM took the step today, 14th March, 2024 and registered at Elgon View Primary School, Senior Quarters Village, Eastern Division in Tororo Municipality.

Previously, Hon. Sanjay had registered at Orago village, Tuba Parish, Molo Sub County, Tororo County in Tororo District.

The successful completion of Sanjay’s registration as a full member of NRM maybe a precursor to a second attempt at wresting the Eastern Region National NRM Vice Chair from the incumbent, Capt. Mike Mukula.

In the last election for NRM CEC members 2021, Sanjay Tanna overwhelmingly beat Capt. Mike Mukula in Eastern Uganda and widespread accusations that the Ugandan born Indian was rigged off victory were lent credit by a recent statement attributed to Dr. Tanga Odoi, the NRM Electoral Commission Chair.

In a video that went viral, Dr, Odoi was heard saying Capt. Mike Mukula could not have gone through if not by his help.

That contest for regional NRM Vice Chair was a grueling one and brought out many undertones with Mukula resorting to the racial card calling Tanna ‘Muyindi’ who should not have any room in the internal politics of Uganda. Despite the racial card, Tanna won by a landslide in Eastern Uganda with his voters celebrating ‘an outright victory’ as early as 5:00 PM that day.

The results for the Eastern Uganda post were eventually the last to be announced 12 hours later with Mukula declared winner against protestations from many who saw it as an ‘outright rigging of results.’

Whereas, Sanjay Tanna has not declared interest to contest again for the regional NRM seat, his reluctance to go back and reclaim his Tororo Municipality Seat points to the fact that he is interested in giving Capt. Mike Mukula another run fort his money, should he choose to contest again.

Hon. Sanjay’s star has been rising since that last attempt to oust Mukula, with the President deploying him among others to campaign for NRM’s Edmund Ariko who was having an uphill task beating off FDC’s Moses Okia Attan in the hotly contested Soroti City East bye-election. And that last minute team led by the Vice President won the elections for NRM.

Then in September, 2022, the Eastern Uganda’s business Guru, was appointed as Chairman Board of Directors, Kilembe Mines.

Tanna and 5 other Board Members were sworn in at the Ministry of Finance Boardroom on 14th September, 2022 in a ceremony graced by Hon. Evelyn Anite, the State Minister for Privatization and Investment and Hon. Peter Aimat Lokeris, the Minister of State for Minerals.

The other Board members are; Atwoki Gilbert Mujogya, Ruth Sengonzi, Semitala Nobert, Eric Chandiga and Hon. Biira Bwambale Loyce.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.